2017-2018 Catalog

Honor Societies

Alpha Eta Rho (1966) is an international aviation fraternity.

Alpha Kappa Delta (1966) is open to all students who have an interest in current social issues and a willingness to discuss feasible solutions and participate in activities which address those issues.

Alpha Lambda Delta (1950) aims to interest freshmen in the pursuit of learning and in high scholastic achievement.

Alpha Phi Omega (1947) is a National Service fraternity.

Alpha Phi Sigma is the only criminal justice honor society which is a certified member of the Association of College Honor Societies. It is also affiliated with the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences.

Alpha Tau (1921) is the student organization of industrial technology.

Beta Alpha Psi (1923) elects from junior, senior and graduate students in accounting. Election is based on scholarship and promise in the field.

Beta Gamma Sigma (1926) elects to membership a limited number of academically outstanding students from the primary disciplines in Business Administration.

Delta Theta Phi promotes awareness of the role of the lawyer in the community and to further the objectives of the fraternity.

Epsilon Pi Tau is the international honorary professional fraternity for education in technology.

Eta Kappa Nu (1962) elects to membership a limited number of academically outstanding students in electrical engineering from the College of Engineering and Mines.

Gamma Sigma Alpha is a national greek honor society which recognizes juniors and seniors with a GPA greater than 3.5.

Gamma Theta Upsilon (1948) a professional fraternity, has for its purpose the recognition of merit among those enrolled in the study of geography.

International Honorary for Leaders in University Apartment Community (IHLUAC) recognizes exceptional apartment leaders.

Magna Iota provides social as well as academic outlet for graduate students in the counseling department.

Mortar Board (1932) aims to foster the ideal of service and to promote leadership and scholarship.

National Residence Hall Honorary (NRHH) recognizes and elects to membership the top 1% of the most involved residence hall student leaders.

Omicron Delta Epsilon confers distinction for academic excellence in economics.

(The) Order of the Coif (1925) elects its members from the upper 10 percent of the third-year class in Law School.

Order of Omega (1984) is a society which recognizes service to community and academic achievement among members of the Greek system.

Phi Alpha (1962) elects to membership academically outstanding students of at least junior status who are majoring in social work.

Phi Alpha Delta (1911) is a fraternity in the School of Law.

Phi Alpha Theta (2004) is an international honor society for students in the field of history.

Phi Beta Kappa (1913) elects to membership a limited number of academically outstanding students from the College of Arts and Sciences.

Phi Beta Lambda (1970) is a national organization for students enrolled in business, office, or business teacher education programs.

Phi Delta Kappa (1924) elects those in Teacher Education on the basis of scholarship, personality, and professional ability.

Phi Eta Sigma (1929) elects to membership sophomores on the basis of high scholastic achievement as freshmen.

Pi Alpha Alpha (2006) aims to encourage and recognize outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in public affairs and administration.

Pi Sigma Alpha (1982) is an honorary society for political science and public administration.

Pi Theta Epsilon (1968) junior and senior students majoring in occupational therapy selected on the basis of scholarship.

Psi Chi is an honorary society in psychology.

Sigma Gamma Epsilon (1950) is a professional fraternity dedicated to the advancement of its members in the earth sciences, geology, mining, metallurgy, ceramics, and petroleum engineering.

Sigma Iota Epsilon (1996) is a national honorary society for students in the field of management.

Sigma Theta Tau International, Eta Upsilon (1984) promotes and supports scholarship, leadership, and research in nursing.

(National) Society of Collegiate Scholars recognizes scholastic achievement and promotes community service.

(National Student) Speech-Language-Hearing Association (1966) for majors in the area of speech pathology and audiology.

Tau Beta Pi (1974) (formerly Sigma Tau) elects to membership a limited number of academically outstanding students from the College of Engineering and Mines.

Tau Sigma (2005) is a national honorary that recognizes academic excellence of transfer students.

Upsilon Pi Epsilon (1987) elects to membership a limited number of outstanding students in computer science.

Office of the Registrar

Tel: 701.777.2711
Fax: 701.777.2696

Twamley Hall Room 201
264 Centennial Drive Stop 8382
Grand Forks, ND 58202-8382